Brook Preloader

Wambach Finalist for FIFA Player of Year

American forward Abby Wambach is among the finalists for FIFA Women’s Player of the Year.

Wambach, the 2012 winner, is competing with Brazilian forward Marta, a five-time winner from 2006-10, and German midfielder Nadine Kessler, seeking the honor for the first time.

Forwards Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal and Lionel Messi of Argentina are finalists for the men’s honoralong with German goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, FIFA said Monday. Ronaldo won in 2008 and 2013, while Messi won four in a row from 2009-12.

Winners will be announced Jan. 12.

Germany’s Joachim Loew, Real Madrid’s Carlo Ancelotti and Atletico Madrid’s Diego Simeone are finalists for FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year.

Wolfsburg’s Ralf Kellermann and Japan’s Norio Sasaki are finalists for FIFA Women’s Coach of the Year along with Maren Meinert of Germany’s Under-19 and Under-20 national teams.

Voting is by national team coaches and captains, and one media member per nation. For men, the FIFA Player of the Year award was merged in 2010 with France Football’s Golden Ball award for European player of the year.